Our temptations...

Glarner Pastete (Glarner means from Glarus), Schabziger cheese and Kalberwurst - once they find their way into your kitchen, they'll be there to stay. Glarner chocolate creations too seduce the palates of people all over the world. Let yourself be kidnapped onto a tour of the gastronomic region of Glarus, with our Glarus-Klöntal tour - stunning mountain scenery and deep blue Klöntalersee included. 

The day-long tours with our tour bus take place every Thursday and Saturday in July, August and September. During the tour, our experts will tell you more about the history and geology of the region from which Glarner Pastete and our other local specialities originate. 

Programme

Every Thursday and Saturday from 9.45 am until about 3 pm. The tour starts and ends at Glarus railway station.

Book now for your chance to take part

Group tours can be individually booked:

Ideal for travel groups, private events or company outings, we can also run the tours on request on other days/months for groups of 4 or more. Programme may be supplemented or amended, for example by a visit to a traditional business of your choice (Alpine cheesery, bee keeper, manufacturer, etc.)

If you are interested or have any questions we will be happy to help you.

Go to contact form

 

What our customers say:

"It was first rate: visits, food and explanations. Everyone was happy and discovered something new (Schabziger and Klöntalersee). A special Merci to Milchzentrale Gössi" Stéphane

Full Tour

CHF 89.-

(Children: 0-6 years free / 7-16 years 59 CHF)

Included are:
  • Ride on the tour bus (max. 13 persons)
  • Accompaniment by a local expert
  • Guided tour in a selected Glarus speciality company (Schabziger cheese factory or Milchzentrale, etc.)
  • Stopover at Schwammhöhe including a light meal
  • Traditional meal in the Rhodannenberg restaurant
  • Discount vouchers for store visits
  • Visit to the Läderach shop in Glarus
  • Video presentation on specialities from Glarus

Reservation

1

Glarner Schabziger

If you like things natural and healthy you will love Schabziger cheese, made from skimmed cow's milk. The almost fat-free Schabziger cheese owes its distinctively pungent, aromatic flavour to the delicious Zigerklee (blue fenugreek), the herb-rich meadows of the Glarus mountains, and its unique manufacturing process.  

In 1463 the Glarus cantonal assembly introduced a requirement for traceability for Schabziger. At 550 years old, it is arguably the oldest branded product in Switzerland. Taste the original that gives the Canton of Glarus its beloved nickname "Zigerschlizt" (Ziger Valley).

For more information

 

2

Glarner Kalberwurst

Adding bread and a hint of nutmeg gives the Glarner Kalberwurst (veal and milk sausage) its special taste and fine texture. It is traditionally served in a white onion cream sauce with mashed potatoes and hot red wine damsons. This sausage has recently also started to be used for barbecuing.

The first Glarner Kalberwurst was made in 1846. While in the past it was eaten mainly at cantonal assemblies, it is now available throughout the year. In 2011, it became the first IGP (Protected Geographical Indication)-certified specialty to be made in the Glarus region.

For more information

3

Glarner Pastete

Glarner Pastete is also known as the "Queen of the Glarus specialities". It is made of light and airy puff pastry. With one half filled with almond puree and the other with damson jam, this pastry sets the pulse racing. It is also available in a smaller version known as a "Beggäli". Tip: never store it

in the fridge. 

In the 18th century, officers returning from military service abroad introduced meat pies to the Glarus region. For cost reasons, the meat was replaced with a puree made from apples (for the wealthy, and today for everyone, from almonds) or damsons. 

For more Information

 

4

Glarner Schoggi

In the heart of the mighty Glarner Alps is the Läderach chocolatier suisse factory. Their so-called FrischSchoggi (fresh chocolate) is especially popular. Läderach is known for its wide range of pralines, truffles, confectionery and fresh chocolate, manufactured for an exacting clientele.

The chocolate factory in Bilten was opened in 2012, coinciding with the company's 50th anniversary. As a result, together with Enneda, Läderach has two locations in Glarus. The company, now run by a second generation of owners, sells its products worldwide in own-brand shops.

For more Information

 

We thank all of our sponsors

The support of our sponsors has contributed significantly to the realisation of this project.

Social

Follow us on Facebook and learn all about the Glarus-Klöntal tour.

Unsere Verführungen...

Glarner Pastete, Schabziger und Kalberwurst – einmal in der Küche gelandet, sind sie nicht mehr wegzudenken. Auch Glarner Schokoladen-Kreationen verführen den Gaumen von Menschen auf der ganzen Welt. Auf unserer Glarus-Klöntal Tour entführen wir Sie in das kulinarische Glarnerland – beeindruckende Bergkulisse und tiefblauer Klöntalersee inklusive. 

Die ganztägigen Führungen mit unserem Tourbus finden im Juli, August und September jeden Donnerstag und Samstag statt. Während der Tour erfahren Sie zudem von unseren Experten mehr über die Geschichte und Geologie der Herkunftsregion von Glarner Pastete & Co. 

Programm

Jeden Donnerstag und Samstag von 9:45 bis  zirka 15 Uhr. Start und Ende am Bahnhof Glarus.

Jetzt teilnehmen & buchen

Gruppenführungen individuell buchbar:

Ideal für Reisegruppen, Privatanlässe oder Firmenausflüge, führen wir die Tour ab 4 Personen auf Wunsch auch an anderen Tagen/Monaten durch. Programm kann ergänzt oder abgeändert werden z.B. durch einen Besuch eines tradidionellen Betriebes nach Wahl (Alpkäserei, Imkerei, Industrie etc.)

Bei Interesse oder Fragen beraten wir Sie gerne.

Zum Kontaktformular

 

Kundenmeinungen:

"Es war tip-top: Besichtigungen, Essen und Erklärungen. Alle waren glücklich und haben etwas entdeckt (Schabziger und Klöntalersee). Ein spezielles Merci an Milchzentrale Gössi" Stéphane

Komplette Tour

CHF 89.-

(Kinder: 0-6 Jahre gratis / 7-16 Jahre CHF 59.-)

Enthaltene Leistungen:
  • Fahrt mit dem Tourbus (max. 13 Personen)
  • Begleitung durch einen lokalen Experten
  • Führung in einem ausgewählten Glarner Spezialitätenbetrieb (Schabzigerfabrik oder Milchzentrale etc.)
  • Zwischenhalt Schwammhöhe mit kleiner Verpflegung
  • Landsgemeindemenü im Restaurant Rhodannenberg
  • Rabattgutscheine für Ladenbesuche
  • Besuch im Läderach-Shop in Glarus
  • Videopräsentation zu Glarnerspezialitäten

Reservierung

Entdecken Sie feinste Glarner Produkte

1

Glarner Schabziger

Wer das Natürliche und Gesunde mag, liegt mit dem aus entrahmter Kuhmilch gewonnenen Schabziger genau richtig. Seinen unverwechselbar urwürzigen Geschmack verdankt der nahezu fettfreie Schabziger dem kostbaren Zigerklee, den kräuterreichen Wiesen der Glarner Bergwelt und seiner
weltweit einzigartigen Herstellungsart.  

1463 legte die Glarner Landsgemeinde das Rückverfolgbarkeitsgebot für den Schabziger fest. Mit seinen 550 Jahren ist er das wohl älteste Markenprodukt der Schweiz. Probieren Sie das Original, das dem Kanton Glarus seinen geliebten Übernamen "Zigerschlitz" gibt.

Weitere Informationen

2

Glarner Kalberwurst

Den besonderen Geschmack und ihre feine Struktur erhält die Glarner Kalberwurst durch die Zugaben von Brot und einem  Hauch Muskatnuss. Traditionell wird sie an einer weissen Zwiebelrahmsauce mit Kartoffelstock und heissen Rotweinzwetschgen serviert. Die Siedwurst gibt es seit jüngster Zeit auch für den Grill.

1846 wurde die Glarner Kalberwurst erstmals produziert. Während sie früher vor allem an der Landsgemeinde verzehrt wurde, ist sie heute das ganze Jahr über erhältlich. Seit 2011 ist sie die erste IGP-zertifizierte Spezialität aus dem Glarnerland.

Weitere Informationen

3

Glarner Pastete

Die Glarner Pastete trägt auch den Titel „Königin der Glarner Spezialitäten“. Sie wird aus luftigem Blätterteig hergestellt. Die mit je zur Hälfte mit Mandel- und Zwetschgenmasse gefüllte Pastete lässt die Gemüter höher schlagen. Als „Beggäli“ ist sie auch in kleinerer Version erhältlich. Tipp: Sie sollte nie im
Kühlschrank aufbewahrt werden. 

Im 18. Jahrhundert machten Offiziere aus fremden Kriegsdiensten Fleisch-Pasteten im Glarnerland bekannt. Aus Kostengründen wurde das Fleisch mit einem Mus aus Äpfeln – für die Vermögenden und heute für alle aus Mandeln – oder Zwetschgen ersetzt. 

Weitere Informationen

4

Glarner Schoggi

Mitten in den mächtigen Glarner Alpen steht die Manufaktur von Läderach chocolatier suisse. Besonders beliebt ist die so genannte FrischSchoggi. Läderach steht für ein breites Sortiment an Pralinés, Truffes, Konfekt und Frischschokolade für eine anspruchsvolle Kundschaft.

Pünktlich zum 50-Jahr-Jubiläum wurde 2012 die Schoggifabrik in Bilten eröffnet. Dadurch verfügt Läderach nebst Enneda über zwei Glarner Standorte. Die in zweiter Generation geführte Firma vertreibt ihre Produkte weltweit in eigenen Boutiquen.

Weitere Informationen

Wir danken allen Sponsoren

Die Hilfe unserer Sponsoren hat wesentlich zur Umsetzung dieses Projektes beigetragen.

Social

Folgen Sie uns auf Facebook und erfahren Sie alles rund um die Glarus-Klöntal Tour.